08 Apr 2021  |   05:55am IST

22 candidates join the Margao municipal fray on penultimate day

22 candidates join the Margao municipal fray on penultimate day

Team Herald

MARGAO: Twenty two candidates filed their filed forms for the Margao Municipal Council (MMC) elections on Wednesday taking the total to 92 on the penultimate day. 

Two candidates filed in each of four wards—ward 12 and ward 16 (both general) and ward 13 and 20 (both reserved for women). In 14 wards only one candidate filed nomination.

The candidates in ward 12 are Naik Sagun alias Dada Vithal and Juwarkar Swapnil Shashikant while those in ward 18 are Raikar Parag Gajanan and Prabhushirodkar Ghanashyam Shridhar.

The four ladies who filed their nominations are Teixeira Doris Joaquim and Vincente Monaliza Aires in ward 13 and Fernandes Sandra Joan and Banu Shamin in ward 20.

The other candidates are Rebelo Luis Gonzaga Judas (ward 1, general), Kurdikar Deepaqshree Shriram (ward 5 reserved for women), Gomes Royston (ward7, general), Rodrigues Joaquim (ward 10, OBC), Jamuni Sulaksha alias Sulu Subhash (ward 14, SC women), Masurkar Manoj Jaganath (ward 15 general).

Incidentally Manoj Masurkar who is known to be a very close friend of Doris Texeira is contesting from ward 15 which has become general ward while Doris is now contesting from ward 13 which is reserved for women and both candidates are supported by Leader of Opposition Digambar Kamat.

Others who filed their nominations on Wednesday are Sawal Dipali Digambar (ward 16, OBC, women), Gadekar Sitaram alias Siddhant Deepak (ward 17, OBC), Pednekar Lata Baburao (ward 19, OBC women), Shirodkar Damodar Babal (ward 21, general), Varak Damodar Vithal ( ward 22, OBC), Vaz Nadia ( ward 23, ST women), Naik Jitendra Lavu (ward 24 general) and Shaikh Kulsum Bi (ward 25, women).