25 Nov 2021  |   06:26am IST

Congress announces 107-member GPCC under Chodankar

The party now consists of 10 vice-presidents
Congress announces 107-member GPCC under Chodankar

Team Herald 

PANJIM: Ahead of upcoming Goa Assembly polls, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Wednesday announced a jumbo 107 members Goa Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) under the presidency of Girish Chodankar. 

GPCC vice president M K Shaikh has been elevated to senior vice president.

The new GPCC consists of 10 vice presidents, 19 general secretaries, 34 secretaries and 21 executive members. The GPCC also has 19 permanent invitees. 

The AICC has also approved the appointment of three additional spokespersons namely Rakhi Naik Prabhudesai, Olencio Simoes and Tanvir Khatib.  

Soon after Chodankar was retained as the president, the AICC had dissolved the GPCC; both the district committees except presidents and all block Congress committees. So far the party has appointed presidents for 36 block committees while committees are yet to be reconstituted.

On Tuesday while replying to a media query, both Chodankar and AICC Goa in-charge Dinesh Rao had claimed that all 40 Block Congress committees and both the district committees have been reconstituted.

Meanwhile, some of the Congress leaders told Herald that the GPCC meeting has not been convened for last two years.


Idhar Udhar