26 May 2023  |   06:24am IST

Konkani literary stalwart Damodar Mauzo to receive Jnanpith Award

Konkani literary stalwart Damodar Mauzo to receive Jnanpith Award

Team Herald

MARGAO:  The Governor of Goa, P S Pillai, will bestow the coveted Jnanpith Award upon trailblazing Konkani writer Damodar Mauzo in a grand ceremony at the Raj Bhavan on May 27. The 57th Jnanpith Award ceremony will be graced by the presence of internationally acclaimed Urdu poet, author, lyricist, and filmmaker Gulzar, who will serve as a special guest.

Joining them in the ranks of luminaries are Justice Virendra Jain, President of the Bharatiya Jnanpith, and Pratibha Ray, Chairperson of the Selection Board. The event will also witness the attendance of numerous distinguished personalities from literature, art, theatre, and cinema, all converging to celebrate the profound impact of the written word.

At 79 years old, Mauzo is renowned for his achievements as a novelist, short story writer, critic, and scriptwriter, spanning both Konkani and English languages. His Konkani novel, ‘Karmelin’, which received the prestigious Sahitya Akademi award in 1983, has etched its name in the annals of Indian literature. 

The novel's impact transcends boundaries, having been translated into 14 Indian languages, with the Marathi, Gujarati, Sindhi, and Maithili versions each winning Sahitya Akademi Translation awards.

Mauzo’s captivating short stories have been translated into multiple Indian languages as well as English, Portuguese, and French. The collection ‘Teresa’s Man’ earned him a nomination for the esteemed Frank O'Connor International Award in 2015. His career is adorned with a multitude of literary accolades, including the Katha Award, V. V. Pai Sahitya Puraskar, and State Cultural Award. Mauzo was recently honoured with the ‘Basava Vibhushan Award 2023’ by the Basava Samiti in Bangalore, Karnataka.

Mauzo is also the co-founder and co-curator of the esteemed Goa Arts and Literature Festival and a founding member of PEN-South India, an international writers’ collective.

Notably, this marks the second time that a Konkani author has received the Jnanpith Award, with the legendary Ravindra Kelekar being the first recipient.


Iddhar Udhar