Herald: Parsekar named in BJP panel to select candidates for LS, by-polls

Election 2019 | Catch Regular Updates | Follow us on Twitter at @heraldgoa

Parsekar named in BJP panel to select candidates for LS, by-polls

15 Mar 2019 05:21am IST
Leave a comment
15 Mar 2019 05:21am IST

Team Herald

PANJIM: Against the backdrop of his recent protests against the BJP, there was a twist in the tale, as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) named former chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar as a member in the State election committee for selecting candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls and Assembly Bypolls.

What makes this development even more interesting is the chairman of this committee is the person Parsekar has locked horns with - BJP State unit chief Vinay Tendulkar. It maybe recalled that Parsekar had publicly revolted against the party and Tendulkar in particular following the BJP’s decision to give the Mandrem ticket to turncoat Dayanand Sopte.

Further, Parsekar has been in talks with the MGP for Mandrem ticket though he has been not committal on contesting on regional outfit ticket.

When questioned on Parsekar’s name figuring in the committee list, Tendulkar said he is the former chief minister and senior party leader.

On Parsekar’s decision to contest Mandrem bypoll, Tendulkar said, “He (Parsekar) has addressed the press recently and had said that he has confidence that party will not let him down. Similarly, we too are optimistic that he will support our candidate in the elections.”

Speaking to Herald recently, Parsekar had said that the BJP had assured him to conduct a survey and only after that ticket would be announced.

“I will wait for the party to reveal the findings of the (Mandrem constituency) survey report and only then I will decide,” he said.

Meanwhile on selection of candidates, Tendulkar said the two candidates for the Lok Sabha polls are finalised and it is only a matter of announcement.

“On March 18 the Central Election Committee will meet to decide the candidates and we will also be present,” he said adding “but more or less we will field same candidates”.

For bypolls, he said, he said the candidates are being short-listed.

The State election committee also includes Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, Union Ayush Minister Shirpad Naik, South Goa MP Narendra Sawaikar, Power Minister Nilesh Cabral, Rajendra Arlekar, Dayanand Mandrekar, Dattaprasad Kholkar, Sadanand Shet Tanawade, Sanjeev Desai, Govind Parvatkar, Damodar Naik, Kunda Chodankar, Sulochana Sawant and Satish Dhond.

Leave a comment
Leave a comment

Advertise     |     Contact Us     |     About Us     |     Terms of Use     |     Privacy Policy     |     Disclaimer     |     Designed by Team Inertia Technologies


Designed by Team Inertia Technologies