Herald: Avertano & Churchill take no chances

Avertano & Churchill take no chances

29 Sep 2018 06:35am IST

Report by
Team Herald

Leave a comment
29 Sep 2018 06:35am IST

Report by
Team Herald

Leave a comment

Attend Scrutiny of Nomination; Elvis not to contest for second term

PANJIM: The decks were cleared for a one to one fight between two politicians to the chair of the GFA President currently held by former bureaucrat and present Convenor of AAP in Goa Elvis Gomes after he declined to go for a second innings.

Churchill Alemao was seated throughout the scrutiny process whereas Avertano left after  the nominations to the President’s post were cleared.

Speaking to herald after the close of nominations and the scrutiny done by the Returning Officer Adv John Abreu Lobo, Elvis Gomes said that he was thankful to the GFA which had elected him unanimously for their faith in him.

“Though I was coaxed to contest, I felt it’s time to move on. New people must come in. It’s good for GFA that there is a contest though in my case the clubs were unanimous in choosing me. But panel politics may politicise the GFA and that is bad” said Elvis.

He expressed  disappointment with some members who are in the GFA since long only for positions for self,  showing no positive contribution towards the clubs or the association. It was noticeable that all candidates who were present sought the President’s blessings for their campaign.

The following are the candidates who are left in the fray for various posts.

Executive Committee Members (Bardez): Babli K Mandrekar, Secretary, Arpora Sporting Club;  Miguel Gonsalves, President of United Club of Nerul; Raju S. Banavalikar Secretary of Guirim Youth Cultural & Sports Club; John Fernandes, President of  St Savio Sports Club; Gregory Dsouza,  Secretary of  Parra Verla Canca Association; Gajanan Kerkar,  Treasurer of Milagres Sports Club; Dominic Pereira,  Secretary of 

Youth Sports Club of Colvale; Laxman Hadfadkar, Secretary of Sinquerim Sports Club and  Patrick D'souza, Secretary of Saligao United.

Executive Committee Member (Salcete):Arnaldo Costa,  Secretary of  Curtorim Gymkhana;  Prakash Dessi, President of Cuncolim Union;  Patwin Fizardo, President of Guirdolim Club; Anthony Leo Fernandes, President of  St. Anthonys Club Colva; Jose Santarita Coelho, Secretary of  Navelim Villagers Union; Jaju Fernandes, President of Young Strikers Club; Joseph A. Dias, President of Salcete Football Club;  John Silva,  Secretary of Ambelim Sports Club;  Cosme Oliveira, Secretary of Raia Sporting Club;  Dionizio D.R. Dias, President of  Santa Cruz Club of Cavelossim andAleixo Noronha,  Secretary of  Margao Sports Club.   

 Executive Committee Member Mormugao: Andrew Anthony Ferrao, Vice President of Cansaulim Arossim Cuelim Sports & Social Club;   Francisco Jose Nunes, Vice President of Benfica Youth Club and Adlear D'cruz,  Secretary of Salgaocar Football Club.         

  Executive Committee Member Ilhas: Sanjiv Nagvekar,  President of  Aivao Youth Club;  Digvijai Velingkar, President of United Sports Club, Mardol ; Mauricio Almeida, Secretary of  Clube Sao Miguel De Taleigao;  Francisco Araujo,  President of  Merces Club; Nelson D'cunha,  President of  Young Boys of Tonca; Jonathan De Sousa, Secretary  of Dempo Sports Club (Jrs) and Welvin Menezes, President of  Goa Velha Sports Club.   

Vice President North: Angelo Albuquerque, Secretary of  Panjim Footballers and  Lavinio Rebello , Secretary of Anjuna Gymkhana     

 Vice President South: Anthonio Pango, President of  Snows Football Academy and Valente Fernandes,  Secretary of  Sao Jose De Areal Sports Club    

  President: Avertano Furtado, President of Enfermos Sports Club and Churchill Alemao, President of  Churchill Brothers Sports Club

 Meanwhile according to sources, possibility of filing complaints before the returning officer for disqualification of candidates who are not meeting the eligibility test under the GFA constitution was not ruled out. The Returning Officer has time upto October 5 to display the final list of candidates

Leave a comment

herald epaper herald epaper

Advertise     |     Contact Us     |     About Us     |     Terms of Use     |     Privacy Policy     |     Disclaimer     |     Designed by Team Inertia Technologies


Designed by Team Inertia Technologies