15 Jan 2022  |   06:58am IST

Chief Electoral Office organises Para-TT for PwD voters

Chief Electoral Office organises Para-TT for PwD voters

Team Herald

PANJIM: The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Goa organised Non Classification, Non Ranking Para table tennis tournament for  Persons with Disabilities voters of Goa  in standing and wheelchair category was held in Multipurpose Indoor  stadium at Campal.

The objective behind organizing the tournament was to involve all sections of society like people with disabilities in the festival of democracy. 

In the wheelchair category, Lloyd Fernandes clinched gold medal, Vishant Nagvekar won Silver medal while Ruki Ahmad and Agoustinho Fernandes settled for bronze medal. In standing category, Chetan Salgaonkar clinched the gold medal, Noel Fernandes won silver medal while Gopal Naik and Sachin Gad won bronze medal.

 The gold medallists received Rs.5000 each, silver medallists Rs 3000 each and Rs.2000 each for Bronze medal winner. Anupa Pilgaonkar was provided Rs.2000 cash award in the female category

A total of 12 wheelchair and 17 standing para players and in special category two female Para players participated in the tournament. 

While addressing the Para players and other persons with disabilities voters, CEO Kunal IAS complimented the winners and runners-up for their endeavour to excel in the tournament.  He urged the players to participate at the National and International tournaments and appealed to participate in enrollment and tag themselves as Person with Disabilities voters. He also insisted to create awareness among their peer group regarding postal ballot  facility and PwD App wherein all election related information is readily made available. “Innovative ideas to reach out to the PwD voters are welcomed and informed the participants about the efforts put by CEO office to provide barrier free Access at Polling Stations,” he said.

 The Nodal Officer for Accessible Election Sudesh Gaude while speaking urged the participants to download PwD App and proposed the vote of thanks.

Additional CEO Narayan Sawant IAS, Joint CEO Aisha Vaigankar, Additional Director DHE Dr. Gervasio Mendes,  Nodal Officer for Accessible Election Sudesh Gaude, State Icon for person with Disabilities, Taha Haaziq, Representatives of various NGOs. Dr. Rajan Mathew, Govt. College Quepem Dr. Sushant Haldankar DMC College Mapusa, Dr. Debashish Bakshi, Parvatibai Chowgule College, Elroy Pinto, Joseph Vaz College, Clifton Fernandes, Nirmala Institute of Education, Melinda Pereira Fr. Agnel College Pillar were the match referees for the tournament. 

Earlier, the inaugural match of the tournament was  played between Additional CEO Narayan Sawant IAS and Addl. Director DHE Dr. Gervasio Mendes to commence tournament.