21 Apr 2024  |   06:46am IST

GBA new executive committee set to assume office from Sunday

Team Herald

PANJIM: The Goa Badminton Association (GBA) gears up for a transformative change in leadership. A dynamic new Executive Committee is poised to take the reins, with a fresh team of experienced administrators ready to guide the association to new heights, with the election meeting scheduled on April 21, at Hotel Manoshanti conference hall, here.

The incoming Executive Committee is set to be headed by Manoj Patil as president, bringing together a blend of experienced professionals and passionate sports enthusiasts. Joining Patil are key office bearers which will include Praveen Shenoy as Secretary,  Sanjay Bhobe as Treasurer, Aniket Redkar as Joint Secretary, and Parag Chauhan as Joint Treasurer.

In addition to the core office bearers, the committee will boast a line-up of Vice-Presidents Santosh George, Harshad Dhond, Vrushali Cardozo, and Swapnil Nachinolkar. Furthermore, the Executive Committee will be bolstered by prominent members Nikhil Prabhu Moye, Wayne Fernandes, Naveed Tahsildar, Arnold Rodrigues, Darwin Barreto, Yeshwant Desai, and former India number one player, Anushka Kuvelkar.

Manoj Patil is an avid sports promoter and former Goa Ranji Trophy cricketer, who will bring a wealth of experience to the role of president. 

"The election process has adhered strictly to the Sports Code, ensuring transparency, accountability and change," remarked Sandeep Heble, the outgoing GBA Secretary. 

“With 12 out of 16 members being new faces, the committee embodies fresh perspectives and a commitment to inclusivity, with representation from both athletes and women. Our earlier committee took initial steps to make badminton one of the most vibrant and active sports disciplines in Goa. We faced many challenges and hurdles along the way, but I am confident the new committee will overcome these. There are dynamic faces who are sure to raise the bar much higher and bring about a revolution in badminton in Goa,” Heble added.

Mahesh Khandolkar, president of the Goa Chess Association, is the returning officer for the elections, while Jayesh Naik, Vice-President of Goa Olympic Association, is the GOA Observer. 


Idhar Udhar