30 Jun 2022  |   08:17am IST

Goa to host back-to-back All India badminton ranking tournaments in July

Goa to host back-to-back All India badminton ranking tournaments in July

Team Herald

PANJIM: Goa Badminton Association is set to create history by organising two back-to-back Yonex Sunrise All India badminton Ranking tournaments.

Starting from July 15 to 21, there will be Junior (U-19) Ranking with a prize money of Rs 4 lakhs, which shall be followed by Sub Junior (U-15 & 17) Ranking with a prize money of Rs 6 lakhs. 

Badminton Association of India (BAI) has announced that these two elite events will be considered for selections / trials for the TOPS Development Group, National Campers, and for participation in International Tournaments, thereby attracting the Country’s best talents.

The details were announced at a press conference addressed by Dr Ajay Gaude, SAG Executive Director, Narahar Thakur -  GBA President, Sandeep Heble -  GBA Secretary,  Manoj Patil - President, North Goa District Badminton Association,  Parag Chauhan, North District Secretary and Nilesh Nayak - Advisor.

“Government has built excellent infrastructure at various locations in Goa which have not been utilised to their full potential. I am happy to note that the Goa Badminton Association will host these major events in Goa which will attract a large number of participants. The SAG is committed towards promoting sports and we are coming up with a centre of Excellence which will be a big boost to sports and sportspersons“, stated SAG Executive Director Ajay Gaude.

The two National events are expected to attract 2000 to 2500 players. Badminton Association of India (BAI) will depute technical officials from various parts of India to conduct the matches. Kerala’s J Melvin Minoy and Vivek Saraf from Maharashtra are the Chief Referees for the Junior and Sub Junior events respectively.

 Harsh Mane, Yash Desai, Aarush Pawaskar, Anish Kamath, Nishant Shenai, Aryaman Saraf, Yash Halarnkar, Nidhi Desai, Janhavi Mahale, Synnovia D’ Souza and Sakshi K are some of the top State ranked Goa players who will be seen in action at these events.

The National tournaments will be organised in collaboration with the Sports Authority of Goa (SAG) and the North Goa District Badminton Association, headed by Manoj Patil (President), Parag Chauhan (Secretary), Anirban Sen (Treasurer), Nilesh Nayak (Advisor), Darwin Barreto, Sanjay Bhobe and Yeshwant Desai (Vice Presidents), Sandeep Heble (Jt. Secretary), Wayne Fernandes (Jt. Treasurer), and Deepak Mayenkar, Sandesh Pawaskar, Shubert Colaco, Ashutosh Naik, Aniket Shenai and Supriya Pai Kuchelkar (members).

The tournaments are budgeted at approximately Rs 60 lakhs with Yonex Sunrise and Bhoomi Resources being the title / principal sponsors.  

 The Goa Badminton Association has invited all young Goa players to enrol and participate in these two National tournaments to get exposure at participating at the highest level.