25 Mar 2023  |   05:36am IST

Peter, Vamanan, Manju move into quarters

Team Herald  

PANJIM: Goans performed creditably in the 55+ to 75+ categories with Peter Tellis, Vamanan K and Manju Khandeparkar being the stand-out performers in the Indian Masters Veterans Badminton Nationals at Navelim, today.

 Satish Kudchadkar, Wilson D’ Souza, Ajay Gupta, Narahar Thakur, Marina Albuquerque, Felipe Barbosa, Vishwanath Prabhu, Rupchandra Humraskar, Dhananjay Sirsat also recorded good progress. 

In men’s 65+ doubles pre-quarter finals, Vamanan K. and Petek Tellis from Goa defeated Eurico Rosario and Ajay Shukla from Gujarat 21-14, 21-9. In women’s doubles 60+ group, Manju Khandeparker from Goa and Sunitha Swaminathan from Tamil Nadu defeated Sumathi Churukanti and Narmada Nohula from Telangana 21-3, 21-8 to head into the quarter-finals. Manju also had a good outing in singles, defeating Nila Bhattacharjee from West Bengal 19-21, 21-8, 21-18 to enter the pre-quarter finals in women’s singles 60+. 

Satish Kudchadkar, a gold medalist at the National Ranking held in Goa in 2020 and a strong contender to win a medal, defeated Wazir Chand Goyal from Haryana 21-6, 21-8 to seal his place in the pre-quarter finals. In mixed doubles 55+, Shailendra Bagre, MP, and Marina Albuquerque, Goa, beat Satinder Malhotra, Mah, and Sharmila Verma, Guj, 15-9, 15-6 to move into the pre-quarter finals. 

In women’s singles 55+ Manjiri Moktali from Goa went down fighting to Hemin Baghe from Chhattisgarh 16-21, 21-15, 21-14 in Round of 32. In men’s doubles 55+ round of 32, Wilson D'Souza from Goa and his partner Rajesh Kumar Gupta defeated Hemant Patel and Jitendra Pradhan from Gujarat 21-13, 21-17 while Rupchandra Humraskar and Dhananjay Sirsat from Goa defeated Babul Saha and Rameswar Saha from Tripura 21-16, 21-10. 

In men’s singles 60+, Filipe Barbosa from Goa defeated Satyanarayana Allam from Telangana 21-13, 21-14. In men’s doubles 60+, Narahar Thakur and Ajay Gupta from Goa defeated Pitrush Indwar and Trilok Kumar from Bihar 21-15, 21-14 to head into Round of 32. Joining them were Ashok Menon and Vishwanath Prabhu from Goa, who gained a walkover against Raju G. K. from Delhi and Hareendran Gangadharan Pillai from Kerala 


Iddhar Udhar